Wednesday 8/10/11- Random Thoughts..

Wednesday 8/10/11- Random Thoughts..

There isn’t a real issue today. Rebel is mellow, though she wanna be curly in spots and frizzy as hell in others. What happened- well SOME of what happened- was I was lifting my roots and in that spot my hair was SUPER detangled for some reason and the pick went all the way through. Instant frizz out on that side. But it still looks pretty good. Still has all sorts of curls popping out all over. So I can’t complain. Well, I CAN! But I’d be just nitpicking. πŸ™‚

I was thinking about something I read on one of the natural hair forums. This lady was saying she’d always thought she had 3c hair because everyone in her family did.. Then she chopped and found she was 4a and was a “little disappointed”. No, I’m not gonna jump all over her about that. Most of us fall into basically two categories. On the one side, those who’ve been told they have “good hair” and see other naturals with 3 type hair- or fluffy soft thick 4 hair- and assume “ok, this is good hair, so that must be how my hair will look”. Then they chop.. And it’s not like that. The curls are tighter. Or the texture isn’t as “silky” or “soft” as they thought it would be. And they are crest fallen. Then team two. I was kinda in this group. Actually I was a little of both.

Anyway, the second group is those who are like “OK, I’m black. So I must have course, hard, NAPPY ass hair!” I hate to admit it, but this was one of the reasons I locked my hair. I felt that was all I could do with it. I’d been told I have the coveted “good” hair… But it tangles so easily and I couldn’t comb it.. So. What else could I do? And in that came a spiritual awakening. Acceptance of what you are and appreciating what you have. I had never been so happy as I was my first 3 years locked. I really miss feeling so connected. Everything just fell into place so nicely.

Then, I wanted to know what was REALLY up there. I saw all these girls online rocking those AfroCurls and I wanted to rock mine too! LoL! I’d been natural for 6 years, but I felt I was ready to see my hair. Not locked away, but FREE! So, I started unlocking. And with the last ones chopped off, much trimming and shaping. I can honestly say I am in love with my hair. πŸ˜€ FUCK who don’t like it! I love it! So far I’ve only gotten 2 “dislikes”. Most people like it- but that’s not important. I LOVE IT! LoL! And I do feel connected to my people. πŸ™‚ Whoever they may all be. πŸ˜€

New hair product for refreshing on the go. I love my glycerin and this product works PERFECTLY with it!! What is it?

WATER!! LoL! I started keeping a spray bottle in my purse. πŸ™‚ When Rebel isn’t feelin’ right I just spritz and she’s happy again!!

Well, it’s time to be hittin’ that ol’ dusty trail. :p

Ciao.

Jen πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

