Wednesday 7/6/11- The Love..

Wednesday 7/6/11- The Love..

What love you may ask.. Well I’ll tell you.

The love of Afro hair. ๐Ÿ™‚

I was watching Bizarre (that just looks wrong! LoL!) Foods with Andrew Zimmern and he was in South Africa with an indigenous tribe there. Not sure what tribe, but it was west of Johannesburg. ANYWAY, they were sitting around doin’ what they do. Andrew was eating weird stuff as always, and I happened to notice what I ALWAYS notice- their HAIR.

Now.. I was not always a lover of natural Afro textured hair. I was raised to believe in “good” hair. The WORST of which was MINE. My tight tangly curls were at the BOTTOM of what could be called good hair!! At least in my neck of the woods. So my eyes have not always been so open. SO, there was a time I would have been right with err’body else picking at the naps. YESA, I would have said “nappy” and it would have been “funny”.

So what was my thought when I saw my “cousins” on TV today??

Beauty… Lovely…. Beautiful headbands… LOVE!! AND IT WASN’T FORCED! I actually love “our” hair. It is truly unique and beautiful. I have officially “defected”. LoL!

I’m not sure when it happened, but I think it STARTED when I started my locs. I still didn’t fully appreciate the beauty of it yet. But that’s when it started.

I think I really noticed that I was loving it more about 2 years ago. There was a Travel Channel show called Dihanni Takes The Globe- or something like that. It stars Football player Dihanni Jones. (I know I am BUTCHERING his first name. I am so Sorry. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) And his hair is so wild, free and THICK!! And I ADORED that hair!! I didn’t feel shame that that was what the world sees “my” hair as. I think I watched that show because of that fro. LoL!

Not sure if I was totally embracing the fro at that point. I was still locked and thinking my texture was…. “looser” than it is. I use to see curls in the roots and ends and was like “Oooh…” And, it IS curly. And beautiful. But TIGHT!! LoL! And I love it. Actually I thought it would be loose curls at times, then others… Nappy nappy, NAPPY!! It depended on which day it was. LoL!

By the time I ACTUALLY started taking my locs out, I didn’t care what my texture would be. I just wanted to be all up in it! ๐Ÿ˜€ And when it was all done, I was very pleased with it. I hated my half assed cutting. But loved my hair. DH can’t understand why I love it so much to save his LIFE! Seriously, if some one said “Get it or I’ll blow your fuckin’ brains out!” Somebody’s about to have some mess to clean up! He just can’t get it. All he sees is the length and the cut.. And maybe that it’s tighter than a 3c on average. But in any case, he feels I have NOTHING to be proud of! And this is so not about just that to me. BUT I am proud of my heritage. All that went together to make me are appreciated and represented. And I don’t see where the shame is supposed to come into play. And anyone who THINKS I SHOULD be ashamed of it can eat a… Well, y’all know how the sayin’ goes. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Ok, now for the typical stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am addicted to co-washing! I will wash my hair EVERYDAY!! I have to physically restrain myself! LoL! The addiction is getting out of hand! My hair can’t handle being washed OR rinsed everyday!! It gets dry and stiff and crunchy!! So daily is a BIG no no! But part of the reason I feel compelled to is stickiness OR dryness! So I decided to skip the night time Long Aid (unless I really need that extra moisture) and just add some water and lotion then baggy. And today my hair didn’t feel like it needed to be rinsed. I’m a PJ ,Honey Dips. You know how we do. But I tell ya this, I’m not buying anymore stuff til I use some of this stuff up. I don’t wanna have 1000 products collecting dust. I want to just buy what I need. (Yeah… That sounded convincing. ๐Ÿ˜€ )

Well, Tender Ronies, that’s all for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ciao.

Jen ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

